Accelerating The Work of the Lord June, 26, 2013

Hello World!

This week is the last week that I will be working under the direction of President Lima. As of the next time that you all hear from me I will be Working under the directions of President Cascardi!

This week has been hectic but rewarding. But first of all a couple Shout-outs

-Congrats Elder Alex Yost! You´re finishing your Mission this week!

-I got letters from Kate and Dad this week so I hope to be sending off replies soon!

Well I am in Rio de Janeiro again today! Today because I hit my year mark we had to get some Visa stuff taken care of. So we woke up at 430 to get the 545 bus to Rio. As we were passing through Juiz de Fora we were coming around a curve and the bus lost traction of its rear tires slamming the back of the bus (where we were seated) into a lamp-post. I was happily sleeping uptil this point but was awoken by the sudden change of events. Glass shattered everywhere and screams of shock woke me up from my pleasent slumber. In the end everyone was fine, just a bit annoyed that we would have to wait over an hour for another bus to take us the rest of the way to Rio. 

We went to the airport today with Elder Anderson (from my district in the MTC) and elder Jaycox (a great friend from the MTC) and felt a tad trunky entering in the airport. We spent 5 hours dealing with this visa stuff… yup that was my P-day. it was great LOL we met a scottish member of the church here. It was probably the funniest thing I have ever heard, a scottish man speaking portuguese! 

Well WAAAYYY back in the beggining of may we had a couple who visited church. Their names are Caio and Barbara. Caio had been working for 45 days out of Leopoldina and got back on Saturday. I had been counting down the days for him to get back because he is truly one of God’s elects. We talked friday night with barbara and scheduled with her to teach the young couple on saturady morning. I knew that Caio would only be in town for 10 days so I came up with a bold lesson plan. And started fasting friday so that we could see miracles in our area. Saturday Morning arrived and I had no idea how Caio would recieve us after 45 days of no contact, and the last thing we had done with his was send him off with a book of mormon. We knocked on their door. Caio came out and smiled when he saw us. He welcomed us in and we talked with Caio and Barbara about Eternal Families and the meaning of eternal life. We showed photos of the temple and the spirit was abundant. While talking about Eternal Life we read Heleman 8:15 and then Alma 7:14-15. After reading the scriptures it was clockwork. HE asked about baptism, we taught and testified. HE felt the spirit and THEY accepted the challenge to be baptized on the 30th! AHHHHH!!! I left the room beaming! I felt the BEST i have felt here on the mission. 

We wont be able to teach them until wednesday at the latest BUT I want to quote a scripture that was used im the transmission last night. 

Moroni 7
“37 Behold I say unto you, Nay; for it is by faith that amiracles are wrought; and it is by faith that angels appear and minister unto men…”

Our God is a God of Miracles! I am counting on His miracles to continue touching the heart of Caio and Barbara so that me last week as part of the Brazil, Rio de Janiero Mission will be remembered for ever! I plea for your thoughts and your Prayers in my and their behalf.

I love you and HAve a great week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

