What a Wonderful World ‏ 9/23/13

I see skies of blue,
and clouds of White…
And I think to myself,
What a Wonderful World!

Olá! It’s great to be healthy and working in the lords Vinyard!

So last week I talked about some potential medical problems that I was having I am Happy to say that I won’t have to have any surgery and that I am back to working in closed toe shoes!

This week has been tough on me and on my companion. Really this whole month has been tough. I have never had problems baptizing or having people come to church, but this last month I feel that I have been thoroughly tried and tested. Saturday we had 14 people who all said they would go to church. We had high hopes for investigators who would progress; we had prayed and fasted for success. Sunday morning before church we ran out of the door early to wake up everyone who said they would go. No one went. When I got to the chapel, I really started to get down. I felt that all of my dreams had been crushed. I started to try and figure out what went wrong, why everything just went wrong and I spent the entire day just miserable. All of our appointments had fallen through throughout the week and no one was accepting our visit. We were walking in the street desperate to teach someone. It was just a tough day and week.

The Lord is trying to teach us something, and I know that I won’t let these problems get us down. When life throws us lemons we got to make lemonade. In Preach My Gospel it teaches great lessons about patience, humility and diligence. We always have a choice when things don’t go well, we can lower our expectations, weaken our plans, and enter into the slums of sadness, or we can get on our knees, pray for guidance, pick up our chins, get to work and expect miracles living happily. I think the first option is a lot easier, maybe even justified at times. But the Lord can give us strength so that the second option can fill us with His spirit.

This is the Work of the Lord, He Lives. I am happy that I have this time to press on as it says in the

hymn:
Firm as the mountains around us,
Stalwart and brave we stand
On the rock our fathers planted
For us in this goodly land—
The rock of honor and virtue,
Of faith in the living God.
They raised his banner triumphant—
Over the desert sod.

And we hear the desert singing:
Carry on, carry on, carry on!
Hills and vales and mountains ringing:
Carry on, carry on, carry on!
Holding aloft our colors,
We march in the glorious dawn.
O youth of the noble birthright,
Carry on, carry on, carry on!

Elder Topper Yost

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

