Happy Halloween!‏ 10/28/2013

DSC00045
Grim grinning ghost come out to terrorize!
HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Wow it is the second Halloween of my mission! For those of you who don’t know, Halloween only exists in the USA, and holidays really don’t exist for missionaries outside of Christmas. I think my costume for Halloween this year will comprise of swapping a tie with my comp… Pretty creative huh?

Well it was a GREAT month/week that flew by so fast! We are having miracles and success in a part of the mission that is known for the hard hearts of the people. As it was prophesied:
“…and men’s hearts shall fail them…
And the love of men shall wax cold, and iniquity shall abound…”

We are meeting a lot of opposition. People are shutting their doors and closing their hearts. The minute that we say “Book of Mormon,” or “Joseph Smith” 4 out of 5 lessons end on the spot. IT is so tough! But in the midst of that we carry on the Cross of Jesus and preach boldly the good tidings of great joy that the Lord has restored His Church and His Everlasting Gospel!

We had a baptism yesterday of Ângelo! He is the father of a family whose wife was baptized over a year ago. His baptism was the accumulation of many of her prayers and fasts. Over the last few weeks that we have worked with him we saw a new light enter his life and his home. He met opposition; give up Coffee as well as other sins to follow Christ. He is reading the Book of Mormon, and His family will be sealed for time and all eternity in a year from now! He is really a great father and he knows that what he is following is the truth! Oh how I love the mission! It really is proving to be the best two years. My faith has grown immensely as I have seen time after time the blessings of the gospel shed on countless individual and families!

I can’t imagine where I would be if I weren’t here right now, nor do I want to try! I am so grateful for the gospel in my own life; I am so grateful that my parents brought me up in a home centered on Christ and the Temple!

I know this work is true and is the work of our God! He lives!
Have an amazing week!
Elder Topper Yost

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

