The Big “Thang” (thing) Theory‏ 1/11/2014

This week was pretty chill, not a ton of exciting stuff to report. I had my first Leadership counsel with the Zone leaders here and Elder Wilde and I gave a pretty great training. I got to see old missionary friends and afterward we had more dominoes with President Cascardi (SCORE). Unfortunately we had to send home 2 missionaries early this last week. That made me think about my mission a bit. I couldn’t imagine coming home earl. That would destroy me. I am so happy to be a missionary because missionary life is the best! I didn’t think that a year ago, but now I really love the life of a full time missionary. I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the whole world. It goes by so quickly I can’t believe it! It feels like yesterday was Christmas and we are almost halfway into January! Wow!
We are catching the fitness bug here in our house, cross fit is good stuff. Cross fit is a series of high impact and high repetition exercises done in short amounts of time. Elder Palmer, our financial secretary is getting me into it and cross fit is getting me into shape. I decided to put completing an “Iron man” triathlon on my bucket list/ New Year’s resolutions. That will be a lot of work!
We have an awesome investigator and I just wanted to tell you all a little about him. His name is Edwaldo and he is from another state here in Brazil called Marinhão but is working in Juiz de Fora for the next half of the year. We found him last Saturday night as we were looking to contact another referral that we had. After teaching to him the restoration last Saturday (I love when I get to work in my area!) he went to church on Sunday along with his brother. They are very humble, Edwaldo doesn’t know how to read but he felt the spirit and recognized it at Church. We have been helping him get ready for baptism. Funny story, we were teaching about the priesthood and at the end of the lesson we asked Edwaldo to pray, he was having a tad bit of trouble so his older brother got up, put his hands on Edwaldo’s head and started to give him a mini “blessing” and I was trying so hard not to laugh, I am happy that they are excited to learn. And learning gospel principles takes time. We are excited for them to come to church again on Sunday.
I was talking to Elder Wilde today how we as humans are always looking for the “Next Big thing” (The Big “Thang” theory); the next thing that will revolutionize the world. We are looking for the next new technology, the next new movie or song or band or trend. Well I feel that at times in this search for the “next big thing” we forget about the most important thing ever which is the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The lord said in Matthew 6: 33:
“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”
When we seek God’s kingdom, we learn that the things of the world does a pretty good job taking care of themselves. Trends come and go, like fashions, bands, and iPods, but Christ and his gospel is what will always be there to bless and guide us!
A Fé é tudo!
Elder Yost

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

